- is registering the vehicle for the first time under your name in the State of New Hampshire. If the vehicle was registered in NH, then registered in another state, and then returned to NH, it is considered a new registration. (During registration license plates can be obtained from the Town Clerk for an additional fee of $8.00, or from the State Division of Motor Vehicles. Yearly stickers are available from the Town Clerk for an additional fee of $3.00 or at no charge from the state. The closest substation location is at Dover Point.) Plate types available at the clerk’s office are: regular passenger plates, conservation plates, vanity plates, motorcycle, trailer and tractor plates.
For vehicles less than 16 years old: (Titled Vehicles)
Certificate of Title, in your name or signed over to you. If you are moving in from another state, you will need the original title. If the title is held by a lienholder, you will need your
current registration, name and address of the lienholder, and the current mileage on the vehicle. OR
Certificate of Title Application (blue copy) from the dealer
For vehicles more than 15 years old: (Non-Titled Vehicles)
Bill of sale, AND one of the following items:
1) previous owner’s Registration, 2) Verification of VIN (Form 19A) completed by an authorized agent - law enforcement officer, NH State Inspection Station or NH licensed dealer,
or 3) a valid out of state title, signed over to you.
There is a State motor vehicle registration fee based upon weight. There is a Town fee based upon the year of the car, value and administrative costs. The Town Clerk will calculate the fees for you
upon registration. If you pay by check you will make one out to the Town of Madbury, and the other to the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles (NHDMV).
- is when a NH registration has been issued, and another registration is being processed within 12 months of the last expiration date. Registration and Safety inspection is required each year in the owner’s (first name on registration) birth month. In the case of a company or leased vehicle, the date is based on a scheme using the first letter of the company name.
NH RSA 261:148 IV NH RSA 261:148 IV No permit shall be issued unless the owner or person controlling the vehicle presents to the town or city clerk.: A certificate of
registration to the same owner for a current or previous registration period. (In other words, please provide a copy of your current registration.)
Fees are the same as new registration. Again the Town Clerk can issue decals and plates for an additional fee of $3.00. The alternative is to visit any State Division of Motor Vehicles substation
(Dover Point is the closest).
Transfer Registrations -is when you have taken a vehicle (vehicle A) off the road, and you are registering a new vehicle (vehicle B). A transfer allows you to
apply the unused portion of the permit fees from vehicle A to vehicle B’s registration fee due. In doing a transfer, the owner of vehicle A and vehicle B must be the same.
Same as new registrations, including registration of the vehicle that you are taking off the road, vehicle A.
Fees will vary, and will be calculated by the Town Clerk at the time of transfer.
Other Registrations - The Town Clerk also registers trailers, tractors, and motorcycles. In the future, we hope to provide that information here.
- The State of New Hampshire requires a yearly vehicle safety inspection. The timing of the inspection corresponds to the vehicle’s registration. The safety inspection is done at state licensed inspection stations. Upon passing of the inspection a sticker is issued and applied to the windshield of the vehicle, and is good for one year. Most vehicle repair business can do the inspection.